Becoming a mother…

Many women will tell you that they have always dreamed of being mothers. They can tell you how they spent all of their youth mothering dolls, other children, and pets. We pretended our barbies were our daughters, we gave them names, we washed their hair and sometimes, cut it too when our own mothers weren’t watching. It was easy, our barbies couldn’t speak or talk………

I had my first maternal feeling about a month after I had a positive pregnancy test.  I started spotting, I cried, I was scared, how could I feel so  much love for something that didnt actually exist yet and when my son was born, I didn’t want to hold him…he was tiny, he weighed a little over 5lbs..I was expecting an 8lb baby.

I had post-natal depression with both of my children. Getting pregnant so quickly and twice was a shock to my system and my hormones but I wouldn’t change any of it.

Mashallah, I have two beautiful babies that  have changed my life 100%. Being a full time stay at home  mum isn’t easy. I don’t get that break that other working mums get, believe me, going out to work is getting your head showered one way or another. I literally spend 24/7 with my kids but I LOVE every second of it.

I’ve learned I have a lot of strengths I didn’t know I had! My husband thinks I’m the most powerful woman on earth! And that is a good thing! 🙂

 

5 responses to “Becoming a mother…

  1. We have had, what? seven billion births? yet it is something which is (almost) completely routine, but still incredible and inspiring at the same time. Ain’t nothing like life.

  2. Pingback: Easy Life? | Elle Amberley Author·

Leave a Reply

